Namesake…


Plagiarism is not how I would call this title. :-). Just the way my name got changed dramatically after I got here made me call it so !! It so happened that my passport had both my first and last names under the “Given Name”, but when the visa came, they decided to put them all in the “Surname” and leave the first name blank !! To make matters more complicated, the I20 came out properly, with “Niranjan” as first name and “Nandakumar” as last name. This “widely varying” name sounded confusing to the “Uncle Sams” here. My efforts to explain that “all of the above” were actually ME ended in vain. The only option I had was to change my name and here I am with a new name – “. Niranjan Nandakumar” šŸ™‚ Funny the ways here …

Perhaps this is one of the posts which had been waiting in the pipeline for quite sometime, but didnt actually manage to come out amidst the myriad of changes that happened to my life – changes in the ways living, changes in the culture what all and what not. And above all, the change from a working man to a student again. Life is harsh in every step you take as you move forward…

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on October 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
