June 1st


With a bag on my back, I boarded my bus.. The bus which took me to school in Time… Those were the lines in one of my poems, I wrote as a kid. The sight of June 1st popping up on my calendar today reminded me of just that. The first day of school, all excited, with everything new – new class, new books, new shoes and even a new umbrella. Somehow June 1st was always the day when monsoon first hit the coast of Kerala. It came lashing down from beneath those dark clouds, bang on at 6:30 (am), as I got ready to leave for school. And by the time I got there, I used to find myself drenched and dripping. An assembly in class, a pacific ocean (as we called it) in the football ground, dark rickety buses with “flying” shutters, and filled up puddles that splashed a bounty at the “fellow” walker’s dress, were all memories that flew in, at the very thought of June 1st. It could be for this reason that rains hold a very special place in my heart. In fact ever since I left school, I never bought myself an umbrella. I always preferred to walk in rain, be it to college or to work.

I wish it rains today, just to relive a minuscule fraction of those moments…….

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on June 1, 2007.

3 Responses to “June 1st”

  1. Rains in Kerala are really special. They just won’t stop. Just the last weekend I’d been to Kerala, to attend a cousin’s wedding. Luckily, on Saturday it didn’t rain, and the wedding went fine. On Sunday morning it started. It was 4:30 in the evening, I believe, when it stopped. Thunder bolt, lightning, and all the jazz 🙂

    The one thing that still cracks me up is how, when we were kids, after the rain had subsided, we used to call upon unsuspecting aunties or elder sisters – to tell them a secret, or to show them some strange creature scampering beneath some tree. And when they’re least expecting you just shake the tree, drenching them! It was fun! 😀

  2. sigh.. schooldays.. i remember back in junior college.. i’d step out of the classroom.. our classroom block was a square with a small garden in the middle.. n look up at the sky.. if i saw it was dark.. threatening to rain.. i’d be sooooooo happy.. classes jus seem to be much more awesome when the weather’s like that! even today the sky was dark, cloudy.. n eventually it rained.. it was beautiful.

    i love thunder, lightning and rain. 🙂

  3. i appreciate the ‘not buying an umbrella” part! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
