Books and movies…


A very hectic week followed by an extremely relaxing weekend was how the last week was. In fact this week seems to be rather hectic too, with a new opportunity cropping up in the work front. The weekend was as refreshing and relaxing as I wanted it to be with Die hard (with a couple of other insignificant movies) and My Name is Red keeping me company. And of course sleep always formed a tacit part of my weekends 🙂

Die hard has lived up to the expectations of its predecessors, truly violent (sans goriness) in its own way. In fact I watched it the same day I took a first look at Iphone but forgot to mention it in my last post, due to obvious reasons :D. Leave the story and watch the actions sequels is how I would rate this movie, although a special mention needs to be made to the destruction of a chopper with a car !! 🙂 As for the story, the scriptwriter has indeed managed to take system intrusion (rather hacking), tracking and its potential vulnerabilities to unimaginable proportions.

My Name is Red is heading for a wonderful end too, with the story unwinding itself in a unique and intriguing manner. I liked everything I read in it, till date, not to mention the “artistic” way of presenting a story. And hence I re-iterate, its a MUST buy 🙂

Two more books came in by post today – Hullabaloo in the Guava Orchard by Kiran Desai and Circle of Reason by Amitav Ghosh (I bought the latter just for the title it had, that seemed interesting 🙂 ). I heard mixed reviews about the book, Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai. Hence decided to get introduced to her as an author first, rather than going by the reviews and then get disappointed (if at all) due to the expectations I have on her book. Its just one of my ways of choosing books I read :-). You of course might have guessed by now what my next book to read would be out of these 🙂

Back to My Name is Red and work. The midweek holiday (American Independence day) should let me finish this and start on the new book.

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on July 2, 2007.

6 Responses to “Books and movies…”

  1. I’m not a diehard fan of Die Hard, but I really enjoyed watching 1 and 2 😀 I must admit though, that I liked the chemistry between Willis and Jackson in 2 better than Willis taking all the goons single-handed in the 1. And the menacing voice of Simple Simon 😀

    Incidentally, a dear friend gifted me the MUST buy. Having finished the first ten chapters in two sittings, I too think it’s a wonderful book 🙂

  2. Me and Karthik (My collegue) were wandering around Blossom the other day. (In fact I think some months ago) I saw this book with the title “My name is red” and the author Orhan Pamuk. I remembered that the author was Turkish and was trying to remember what was so special about him. I thought I told my friend he might have won some award or something ;D and the blossom guy was all smiles at this 😀 It took a while to realize what award 🙂 and why he smiled.

  3. one more book to add to my ever growing list of books to read 🙂

    i love reading!!!

  4. You’re makin me feel guilty ! 😐

  5. i have read of too many bloggers reading My Name is Red. i HAVE to pick it up now. somehow and from somewhere!

  6. @Prasil .. Well this is better than die hard 2 🙂 And Orhan is WONDERFUL … shucks saying that for the nth time now !!

    @Vanchi… lol. that should have been an interesting experience !! Well I came to know about that only after I bought to book 😉

    @Farhana .. Definitely

    @Xeres .. huh ? Guilty ?

    @Unjun .. Well what can I say, you HAVE to 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
