Mac's "grey screen of death"


Early yesterday morning, I was taking a stroll in the web world, trying to get over the insomnia streak that had gotten over me, when my Mac decided to “quit” on me! Suddenly out of the blue (In fact I must say it was grey πŸ˜‰ ), popped out a message saying “You need to restart the computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button.” Its translations into Spanish, French and Chinese further substantiated the seriousness of the matter.

In the two years that I’ve known her, she never told me this even once before !!

With nothing but the power button being functional, I was left with no option but to keep that pressed, until she “shut down”. It took a while and “a lot of convincing”, before she decided to power back up. Never having seen such an issue before I decided to find out what really happened all of a sudden. And here is what I found. πŸ™‚

Apparently there was a “Kernel Panic” , which could have been due to an external hardware issue or even a memory overuse! Amidst an overdose of hexadecimals in the log files, I found the word “Trackpad”. I never knew trackpad was an external hardware!! πŸ™‚ he he.

Wise men from the mountains say reminders come through small doses of the impending big disasters πŸ™‚ And I realised that I haven’t taken a backup of the system for quite long. I need her for atleast another month after which I can go get myself a new Mac. *sigh*

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on December 21, 2007.

2 Responses to “Mac's "grey screen of death"”

  1. I hate the convincing part. Dames like these take a while to get convinced πŸ˜‰

  2. Well… some dames just keep getting unconvinced. They fight hard using blue screens and what all and what not. This dame was just a nice one till a few days back. I guess the “fever” is catching on πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
