Harsh realization..


Autorickshaw drivers in Pune are better “arithmeticians” than the engineers and scientists in India.

The meter system in the autorickshaws in Pune are a little weird compared to the ones I have seen in the rest of the country. I wouldn’t consider myself to have seen them all, but the little that I have seen, this certainly proved to be the strangest. Unlike most other places, the meter reading here does not directly indicate the amount we need to pay. Instead, it gives you a number, which when multiplied by 6 and then incremented by 3, will give you the amount!! So much for technology laying emphasis on user-friendliness πŸ™‚ he he.

Coming back to my first statement, I was with a group of physicists yesterday, and we happened to board an auto. Although I have not done much justice to engineering, I would still call myself an engineer. πŸ˜€ So that makes us 2 physicists and an engineer. Having reached where we were supposed to have reached, we looked at the meter which read “3.50”. We all started calculating the amount as we were getting down from the auto – a simple math, (3*6 + 0.50*6 + 3). To our surprise, even before we calculated what 0.50*6 would be, the auto driver was ready with the answer!!

I just stood there wondering how talented *we* Indians are πŸ™‚

Offbeat: I did manage to find a “used” phone. Well, it took a little while trying to convince my mother to buy a new phone πŸ˜€

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on December 27, 2007.

4 Responses to “Harsh realization..”

  1. The time I’d been to Pune to visit a friend, I was surprised to find that the rickshaw meters never quoted the fare, or the actual distance traveled. I remember, after an engaging conversation with the friend inside one such rickshaw, when we were about to get down and pay the auto guy, I’d remarked something like, “Boy, the ricks are quite cheap here. Look, just 5 rupees.” πŸ˜€

  2. LOL… yeah! I was shocked to see “Rs” 1.00 as the minimum amount. Left me wondering if I was really in Pune or in Malgudi πŸ˜‰

  3. Hehehe ! guess this happens to everybody at pune πŸ™‚
    as for the math n stuff,if you question them about the fare,they’ll take out this sheet with fares printed on it πŸ˜€

  4. kollam !

Leave a Reply

 
