Day 2 in Pune


Pune is a city which has left me with a lot of memories, most of which are ones I always will cherish. For this same reason, I wanted to visit most places that I had been to, the last time I was here. One such place is IUCAA (Inter-University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics). Well, my association with this place dates back to my 8th grade, when I came over with my parents for a month during my summer vacations in school. Although traveling with my parents on their official visits was not uncommon for me, this place stands out as one which I have always liked coming back to.

This was where I made my first telescope (well that was the only one till date too πŸ˜€ ). Nostalgia hit me the moment I stepped onto the quad where stood the Newtons, Galileos, Aryabattas and Einsteins (sculptures of course πŸ˜‰ ) – the path I took everyday on my way to the library. I sat beside Newton, staring at the apple that fell on him, trying to figure out gravity. I traced the star pointed to by Galileo, wondering if that was something I could have found through *my* telescope.

I then walked into the library complex, which housed the famous Foucault’s Pendulum . I remember standing in front of it waiting to see it change its direction of swing at least a little only to find that it always did when I went out for lunch! I spent almost an hour or two there, trying to relive those moments I’ve had. It was indeed refreshing.

PS: I wish I had not forgotten to bring along the cable for my camera, to transfer the pics on to my laptop!!

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on December 28, 2007.

2 Responses to “Day 2 in Pune”

  1. Aha! I didn’t know there was a Foucault’s Pendulum somewhere in India, too. My wiki search says that there are in fact four of them πŸ™‚ Haven’t seen one myself, maybe I must visit the UN headquarters here πŸ™‚

    By the way, which was the star Galileo was pointing to? Been a long time I “saw” the night sky. Hehe! πŸ˜€

  2. This is one place which had it for a really long time! UN Head quarters is not a bad idea either πŸ˜‰

    Been a long time I did that too. But I guess it was the Pole Star. πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
