Ways to increase the number of pages in your research paper…


I guess this post was born out of an interesting conversation that I had with some of my colleagues in the place I worked. Being the end of semester, and esp. since this is my last semester in school, the month of April indeed stands out as a month of less sleep and more typing, with the number of “pages” I need to submit in each of the research paper being impossibly huge. And obviously, this being at the back of my mind all throughout, I happened to reveal that at one point during my work today. Let me take you through the excruciating task that I have in front of me, before I graduate.

I have a 50-70 page report to submit for my final project, not to mention the presentation slides and the model I need to build, before I do that. Another two reports – one of 5 pages and the second, 20-30 pages for my second course and further two reports – 40 and 20 pages each – complete my next 3 weeks. That makes it a total of 145 – 175 pages to literally type before I graduate!! And having not thought about it till date was perhaps the biggest mistake I did.

Now getting back to the conversation I had today, apparently there are several ways of increasing the number of pages of your report rather phenomenally. One of the suggestions I got was increasing the character spacing, which means, even within a word, the spacing between the characters can be increased from say 1 to 1.3, to produce a significant difference, without actually making it noticeable. Add on increased margin size and this would be just perfect for a 50 page long report.

But perhaps the most interesting suggestion I got today was to increase the font size of just the periods (full stops) and commas. Punctuation takes up a lot of space after it, in word documents. So even a minor change from a font size of 12 to 14 would drastically alter the number of pages. Strenuous as it seems, this might not be a bad idea especially for a person like me, who tend to shorten sentences and descriptions to as minimal words as possible, and often find it difficult to meet the annoying page requirements.

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on April 2, 2008.

5 Responses to “Ways to increase the number of pages in your research paper…”

  1. lol.. thanks for the tip.

  2. That’s pretty handy information ! Why can’t academia be kinder to souls of few words? :mrgreen:

  3. Whoa !! thanx a ton for the tips πŸ˜€

  4. Hallo! πŸ™‚ New place looks nice..

    And the punctuation bit looks tedious man πŸ™‚

  5. hello! i got my blog back up again. haha. your blog theme is awesome!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
