Alarms and snoozes


Since the day I was born, and if that’s too much of an exaggeration, since the day I remember, I’ve always had problems waking up in the morning. When I was at home, my mother used to be my alarm. She used to literally shout at the highest possible decibels, “snoozing” at not-so-constant intervals and that finally made me wake up after almost an hour! Ever since I’d been living alone, I made it a point to avoid waking up in the morning, unless the situation was beyond just dire. I must say, a large part of the reason was the fact that I used to sit up late, not realizing how late it really was. So if it ever got to a point where I had to wake up at “odd” hours between 6am to 9am, I made sure that I stayed up all through the night just so that the complications associated with waking up could be avoided. That had been the case for the past few years.

But in the past one month, since I entered my new job, I’ve been faced with a situation where I had to be at the office by at least 8am! I realized that this had to be a routine, rather than the “dire” intermittent situations that I was used to in the past and since then I’ve been looking for ways to wake myself up in the morning, because I could no longer afford to sit through the nights. Thanks to my phone, I guess I now have a fool proof snooze solution which made sure that I woke up within at least an hour after the first alarm went off. Here is how it works.

I “try” to wake up by 6:00 in the morning, which means that my alarm has to start the process of waking me up, at least by 5:00. The snooze function in my alarm works every 10 minutes. So I have alarms set at 5:00 and 5:15, so that after 5:15, there is an alarm that goes off every five minutes, simply due to the phase difference between the two snoozes. 🙂

Well, over the past one month, I’m getting used to waking up in the mornings, so much that I’ve been able to slowly reduce the gap between the first alarm and the actual time I woke up, by 15 minutes. 😀 . Hopefully I can see a day, when an alarm at 6:00 will make me wake up at 6:00!

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on August 14, 2008.

4 Responses to “Alarms and snoozes”

  1. I’ve lost count of the number of meetings I’ve missed recently because of my faulty cellphone alarm. It rings at odd times, and almost always way past the alarm time I would’ve set!

  2. Well, time to switch to an iphone 😉

  3. the sleep between the snoozes has its own guilty pleasure 🙂
    …about waking up on time..I keep inventing excuses to beat my resolve from the prev night!!

  4. 🙂 Well there is no way I can make excuses now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
