What happens if you get hit by a truck tomorrow!


Over the past few years, throughout my grad school and my work right now, I have been exposed to a common term that lingered across every organization – Risk! As hot as the topic can be, risk management team is a group that is considered as an integral part of every company. Needless to say, there is a large group working just on the possible risks and their impacts, in my company too! As part of my daily work with the multitude of projects that run around me, I’ve had constant interactions with people from this specific group, which I guess is not uncommon in a company of this scale and business need.

But something that amused me right from the first day I started hearing about the term “risk”, since my graduate school years, was the fact that, from an individual standpoint, risk management is often looked upon as “What happens if you get hit by a truck tomorrow”! How can the possible impact (not the fact that you are hit by a truck) be minimized ๐Ÿ™‚ At first I started hearing this phrase from just a single person and promptly decided to avoid that as a “trademark” analogy. But I soon realised that it was a common phrase used by a large number of people, all over the world – be it a company or a school!

Just an interesting observation ๐Ÿ™‚

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
