"Philos Adelphos" – The land of Murals


I have always had an amazing knack of putting off visiting places close to where I stayed to a later date, simply due to that fact that they were close by and could be seen anytime. This quality to mine, perhaps dates back to the days when I was growing up in Cochin, India. Fort Cochin was one of the places I’ve always wanted to see, with its high rising fish nets, Synagogues and a history going back to the early European settlements. I must have passed by the place, a countless number of times, but never paused to take a look. It was not until my last visit to India, years after I moved out of Cochin, that I really took time off to go see the place. Niagra Falls in the state of New York is another interesting example. The place where I studied was just a couple of hours away from this breathtaking wonder. And I must admit, I have not managed to see the falls in the past 2.5 years of my stay in US although I did take time off to visit the Florida Keys, 1500 miles away!! Now that I have moved out of New York to a state that is a little further away, I guess my probability of visiting this place has gone up leaps and bounds.

For this same reason, when my plans for this Christmas got thwarted by bad weather and cancelled flights, I decided to get to know the city I live now – Philadelphia, a land rich in history, perhaps the city with the most stories to tell than any other city in the whole of United States, through its spellbinding graffitis. Although I could not do much justice to what I really planned due to the limited transportation that I had, I did manage to catch a glimpse of this land which played a significant role in the American Independence, being the largest city in the 1800s. I have always maintained that the best way to know a city was to walk around. And that was exactly what I did – through the swarming population on the streets to the cobbled side roads, past the gigantic wall paintings, watching the real talents of the street performers. From what I saw so far, this city has not failed to amaze me.

Here are a couple of shots, taken amidst my wanderings.

Graffiti on the streets of Philadelphia - Part 2

The real talent

I plan to make a trip someday, tracing the graffitis (Perhaps murals is a more positive word for this) spread around the city. And I promise, the art of postponement will not stand in its way this time. Let that be a new year resolution for 2009!

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on December 28, 2008.

10 Responses to “"Philos Adelphos" – The land of Murals”

  1. Good Luck with ur Resolution!Btw about your comment,I would like to read the other posts and get some tips πŸ˜›

  2. Thanks πŸ˜€

  3. Hey..same here.. we have this lake just 100 meters from our home and the whole city comes to spend the weekend and evenings there but I never even stopped there to take a look.. such a dumb act to do.. and I agree there is no better way than a walk to enjoy the real spirit of a place.. πŸ™‚

  4. Ah a Philadelphia Story series ! Good good πŸ™‚

  5. @Maheep … I see that it is not just me then!

    @Xeres … Series, I hope it will be πŸ™‚

  6. funny..i read this post after the latest one… and it only reinforces what i said there..nice reading…

    keep travelling and blogging..

  7. Hi Niranjn

    wafted over your space post your comment on my post..I love this post of yours. I am yet to explore
    your space…

    …the best way to know a city was to walk around…indeed a fabulous way to capture the wholesomeness of moments lived through lazy sauntering through the same familiar streets, not so strange looking streets of the city one lives in, feeling at times that much avoidable pang “how can I..how can i take this for granted”…

    Wall Paintings & Street performers, truly TANGIBALISE the experience of a city/town and create a spontaneous MUSICAL / ENTERTAINING AMBIENCE. they call this busking right? would love to read more of such kind Pan-America….great stuff!

    Rgds

    Jyo

  8. @Vaish … Sure will travel as much as I can.

    @Jyo .. What is more peaceful than a walk in the city listening to the street performers perform amidst the busy traffic. πŸ™‚

  9. hehe.. you’re far better off than me.. allow me to illustrate

    a) 4 years in Cochin – Have been to Fort Cochin a few times with my dad in the car. Never ever got to the beach or the chinese nets :mrgreen:

    b) 3 years in Chennai – Never ever went to Marina Beach :wow:

    c) close to 1.5 years in Bangalore – Haven’t been to Lalbagh yet!

    d) 21 years in Kerala – Never ever been to Munnar, Kuttanad or Wayanad

  10. LOL … you are right… I have atleast seen Lalbagh and Munnar, while on excursions from school! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

 
