The sun is shining, the weather is sweet…..


Interesting, the way sun decided to come out today amidst the harsh winter, as it was expected to be, this time of the year at this part of the world! It has been amazingly slow today at office. And I decided to read every post I wrote on my blog(s), including my old blog, having suddenly been hit by the fact that it has been 5 years since I started blogging! Read every single line including the comments and I realized that I just managed to kill 2 hours! It almost seems as though Time has decided to go lazy during this holiday season trying to drag its way to the end of the day!

I have been rather unusually steady on my “reading” assignments over the past few days. The new book – People of the book by Geraldine Brooks which I started over last weekend, seem to keep me engrossed. It tells the story of the oldest Jewish text – Sarajevo Haggadah, tracing its survival path over the ages. Interesting the way the author has managed change her style of writing to suit the era she was describing. I still have a long way to go. But at the onset, it certainly stands top among the better books I have read in the recent past.

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on December 30, 2008.

11 Responses to “The sun is shining, the weather is sweet…..”

  1. “reading” assignment soounds geeky…yet sounds fun…

    Your blog..your travel and your photos..theres something very simple abt them.. a quality of being at peace …

    (and am so high on Vodka!!)

    Happy and more interesting blogging in the new year!!

  2. I wanna read this book as well πŸ˜€ lemme grab a copy and will let u know how i find it to be…

    btw i love ur blog… keep posting things… πŸ˜€

    Happy New Year…!

  3. Geraldine Brooks won her Pulitzer Prize in 2005,for March,dat was a delectably imaginary piece,so is people of the book.
    God bless
    Wishin Yu Happier,Healthier,Peaceful 2009

  4. @Vaish … Thanks πŸ™‚ Happy new year to you too! And hope you remember what you did at the strike of 12, the next day πŸ˜‰

    @Alice … YOu should grab a copy of it. I’m sure you wont regret it. Thanks!

    @Leslie … An imaginary piece based on a true story, I would say πŸ™‚

  5. simple but nice πŸ™‚

    and yeah.. wish you a very happy new year !

  6. Read “The Thirteen and a Half Lives of Captain Bluebear” by Walter Moers!!!!!

  7. OH MY GOSH!

    I remember you, I can never forget your username because it always striked me for it was a familiar name.
    Then it hit me, you commented me such nice comments on my blogdrive with all the poetry on it huh?!
    the RandomImage one, I’m certain that was you πŸ™‚

    AHHH! HOW EVER DID YOU FIND MY XANGA?!
    I’m pretty sure it must have been either near impossible or quite a search to do so, but the thought that you went through all that just to get ahold of my new blog sure is touching. πŸ™‚
    Ahhh, I’m so sorry I couldn’t get to you sooner. I was out of state during my winter break, and just arrived home around 2 days ago and had to catch up on things back home.
    but here I am now! and I hope I can keep in contact with you again πŸ™‚
    MISSEDDD YOU A LOT! And it’s so heartwarming to see you’re still blogging πŸ™‚

  8. Hey fellow blogger, read ur comments on my blog.,..nice space you got here..happy new year to you too! will bukmark your page now..for further reading!

  9. @Jenn, Nice to see you here!

    @nids, Thanks!

  10. what is the link to your old blog? I revisited my old blog after 6 years and it had this comment left by you in 2008!!..was kinda surprised..I didnt even think rediff would ve archived, let alone keep it active fr folks to put comments..

  11. @Disha.. Yeah! It was nice to read old blogs. I was going through my old one too, back then! http://scourge.rediffblogs.com/ Nice to see you here!

Leave a Reply

 
