Food for thought ….


What happens to all those bullets that are fired to the sky, to mark the start of races in Olympics? Don’t they every get pulled back down by gravity?

The little that roamed around in the web world trying to figure out what exactly would happen, I chanced upon yet another interesting read – “ Olympic starter’s gun ‘unfair’ ! Apparently going by the speed of sound (@ ~300m/s), the runner in lane 1 hears the sound a couple of hundredths of a second earlier than the last person. Considering the number of photo finishes that occurred in races as big as those, this could certainly be a potential problem.

And I realized, I’m not the only one with a lot of free time! 😀

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on March 1, 2009.

4 Responses to “Food for thought ….”

  1. 🙂 A lot of free time is what I need now.

  2. Interesting question, that. 😛
    And as for the unfairness, I hear they’ve started wiring the pistols to speakers placed besides each athlete.

  3. Heeey there, it’s me again. 🙂

    I haven’t heard from you until that one time you found me and like eons before that HAHA.
    Well, seems like you’re doing good and it’s nice to see you have some free time. That’s always a good thing, and most definitely what I need more of nowadays. :\

    well, I hope I hear baack from you. it’s always nice to reconnect with someone from so long ago 🙂

  4. Yes very jobless 😛 But damn interesting too.. never crossed my mind..

Leave a Reply

 
