Charlie Sam Nancy


One fine morning, amidst the cold winter, I had to make a phone call, a rather official one. As the etiquette of telephone conversations once taught me, the first line, after a hello had to be an introduction stating my name. “Hello, this is Niranjan calling from “, I said, half asleep, draining down the remaining dose of caffeine from my coffee mug.

“Can you spell that for me, Sir?” , replied the sweet voice on the other side.

“That will be N.i.r.a.n.j.a.n”, I said, absentmindedly.

Little did I realise that it would take me another 3.5 minutes, before she could spell my name right!

“Eeerrr, so it is N as in Nancy, I as in India……” My mind went blank trying to find words which start with the letters in my name. I had always maintained that pronunciations of alphabets in English were uniform, however varied the dialects and accents were across the globe, until I came to this country. With “Z” being “Zee” and “W” being the toughest to explain, without a “word”, I have come to accept that there can be surprises everywhere.

My name has always been complicated. With >2 syllables, it makes it a little harder to remember and hence recall. Perhaps that was one of the reasons why I have had a nickname wherever I went. Now with the “pronunciation” of the spelling making matters more tricky, I guess I have to learn it the right way :-).

“That will be N.i.r.a.n.j.a.n – N for Nancy, I for India, R for Run, A for Andy, N for Nancy, J for Jump, A for Andy and N for Nancy”

or even shorter, as time can sometimes be precious,

“That will be N.i.r.a.n.j.a.n – Nancy, India, Run, Andy, Nancy, Jump, Andy, Nancy!!” šŸ™‚

I’m yet to finalise on a cheat-sheet of words to “spell” all 26 letters in English alphabet, which I plan to put up on the white board next to me, just so that I dont go blank the next time I’m faced with such a dilemma!

Quite a hiatus that was. Work and books (The lost city of Z, by David Grann, being the latest), with varying climates from cold and windy Monday through rainy and stormy Wednesday and humid and sunny Sunday, must have obviously taken a toll on me.

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on April 26, 2009.

4 Responses to “Charlie Sam Nancy”

  1. N ever
    I magined
    R unning
    A round
    N ude
    J ust
    A ttracts
    N uns

    Taaaadaaaa! You’re welcome. šŸ˜‰

  2. Phew! Hope I dont get fired for saying that šŸ˜‰

  3. lulz šŸ˜€ nonsense. it’s got quite the ring to it.

  4. It sure does sound rhythmic šŸ™‚ he he

Leave a Reply

 
