An unconventional weekend


Yet another weekend went by and I was mostly confined to interiors although the weather looked amazingly tempting to be outdoors. I guess some weekends do tend to make you extremely lazy and this was one such. The result – Lost Civilizations of Incas and Mayans and true stories of Alexander the Great and Genghis Khan . You tube does add some value to life apart from the short snippets such as Charlie bit me, the barrage of music videos and its collection of vintage ads. I must admit this weekend was perhaps the most I have spent on youtube, something quite unlike me.

With “A fine balance by Rohinton Mistry” keeping me company the rest of the time, I got lost in the maze called my room. The book that is 600 pages long, has a classic touch to it, with characters so elaborately introduced that one might lose track of the prime of details. To weave such an intricate story with each character, however miniscule his importance to the story was, portrayed with exquisite finesse, is truly an incredible talent. The book reminded me of the Charles Dickens and the Jane Austins, who enthralled the readers by the sheer power of their characters, something that is rarely seen from the authors of present day!

Next in the line – Sitting Bull by Bill Yenne, a book that has been in the queue for quite a while. That should keep me going till Borders ships me my next batch of books 🙂

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on May 10, 2009.

4 Responses to “An unconventional weekend”

  1. Ghost Rider! 🙂 Remember me?? I realized I was God? I am coming here after ages 🙂 It’s so good to see you still writing. I have moved too, couldn’t exactly give up blogging, so I moved 🙂 Visit me 🙂 These books sound good Rohinton Mistry is on my book list for ’09 🙂

  2. Hey I do remember you! Its wonderful to see you again! And even happier to see that you have kept on with blogging! On my way to your blog now!

  3. I’ve read just one by Rohinton Mistry- Family Matters. Horribly depressing book. Just cannot think of any other way to describe the thing. All his books that way?

  4. Well I haven’t read Family Matters, but this definitely was a delight to read.

Leave a Reply

 
