A saga …


It was one of those non-typical Friday evenings, as I got back home “tired” from an unusually light day at work, when the dilapidated condition of my room suddenly struck me. It had been months since I paid any attention to this place where I lived. Clothes piled up like peaks, turning into a giant mountain on one side, and my camera buried deep under it, luckily preserved well from the never ending accumulation of dust; books finding their abode all around my bed, leaving a space resembling the shape of a human, just enough for me to bury myself into every night; empty cardboard boxes from all the gadgets that I had accumulated over the past few months; unpacked baggages from all the trips I had been to since Christmas and I decided, it was time to put them all in their rightful places.

It was a task that even Hercules would have refused to accept. Two days of relentless cleaning, with occasional breaks to reenergize myself with caffeine and of course food, as my weekend started to wane, I decided to end this “beyond-herculian” task in a state which looked bearable to human eyes. And sure enough, I captured those final stages, which perhaps would be the only time I would see it as clean as it was now, before yet another one such weekends when I decide to venture into this process called cleaning.

So here’s an ode to a clean room …

Take 1:

My Room - Take 1

Take 2:

My Room - Take 2

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on April 18, 2010.

6 Responses to “A saga …”

  1. I love the color scheme of your room!! ideal for the rustic look when sipping coffee and indulging in books!

  2. Thanks 🙂 Well I had no choice on the wall colors, but at least the rest of them. It does turn into a great place to sip coffee and indulge in book, esp. during a rainy day.

  3. LOVE your room…and the way that lampshade lights up the place in such cozy colours.
    Super.

  4. Thanks Scorpia!

  5. What a great space! I’m really starting to warm up to the idea of white walls. So much better for displaying various fabrics and artwork.

    • Thank you! That’s very true. But the space is no where close to how it looked back then 🙂 I guess its time I clean it up again.

Leave a Reply

 
