Zindagani – Celebration of Life


I had this nasty problem in the past. Early morning as I woke up from my slumber, frantically trying to knock off the drowsiness through a dose of caffeine, a song would pop up in my head. It would then linger on till the end of the day when I would finally sneak back into my bed to refresh myself for the next day. Often, that song would end up as an infinite loop in my playlist and you would find me humming away to glory, completely oblivious of the surroundings. Off late I thought I had grown out of this addiction, when I found myself losing interest in those songs that woke me up, midday.

And after almost 3 years, it happened again. Only this time, it came in my dreams! It was a song that I had heard back in my undergraduate years. I heard it first in one of those music programs amongst the zillions that were aired every hour on TV. It had an instant impact on me, so much that I actually bought the “cassette” of the album where it featured – Yeh Zindagani by Seven, a 3 member band from Kerala formed back in 2000. I must have looped it so much back then that the tape finally cut loose and those familiar screeching noises on an aging cassette finally started to creep into it. There ended my association with the song….. until today. I don’t know what happened today, but from the moment I woke up at a rather unusual hour, early in the morning, I found myself humming this tune. Since then it has been a relentless search for this song online. I must admit there has hardly been a song these days that you will not find online. But this one turned out to be a specie of its own! I never knew a song could be this rare…. rare enough to find just a fleeting glimpse of it in YouTube!

So here’s to one of the only links I found after a day’s worth of search. Click on the first play button you see while I work on getting it embedded here and continue my search …..

Zindagani – Celebration of Life by Seven

~ by Niranjan Nandakumar on November 28, 2011.

One Response to “Zindagani – Celebration of Life”

  1. I’ve missed out on quite a few of your posts just ‘coz I forgot to update my RSS subscription to your new blog (again!) .

    ‘n wakey wakey.. your blogs been asleep for 3 months. You can rant about about the 2-1 loss at Old Trafford today and Suarez’s refusal to shake hands with Evra.

Leave a Reply

 
